Dr. Bryan Willson is Executive Director of the Energy Institute at Colorado State University (www.Energy.ColoState.edu), where he also serves as a Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

Media Requests

C: 415-488-7711

Members of the media seeking immediate assistance with a story about the work happening at the Energy Institute should contact Communications Specialist Joanna McWilliams

Todd Bandhauer

1374 Campus Delivery Fort Collins, CO 80523



Dr. Todd Bandhauer is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at CSU and the Director of the Interdisciplinary Thermal Science Laboratory (www.theitslab.com). His expertise and interests include thermal energy systems, electrochemical energy storage and conversion systems, and microscale phase change heat transfer. He is currently leading a team on an ARPA-e project […]

Kristine Bennett

430 N College Avenue Fort Collins, CO 80524


Kirk Evans

2001 Campus Delivery Fort Collins, CO 80523-2001


Kirk was raised on a southeastern Colorado farm. He attended Garden City Community College from 1992 – 1994 as a part of the John Deere Agricultural Technician Program. He began a degree program in the CSU Mechanical Engineering Department in Fall 1997 and began working at the EECL. He became the Lab Manager in Spring […]

John Mizia


John Mizia leads the advanced biomass combustion lab at the Powerhouse Energy Institute and is also the CEO and co-founder of Qapture Inc.

Daniel Olsen

Powerhouse Office 207, 430 North College Avenue, Fort Collins, CO 80524



Dr. Daniel B. Olsen is an Associate Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Colorado State University (CSU).  He carries out research on new technologies for industrial engines and teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in the thermal sciences.  He holds a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Colorado State University.

Sid Suryanarayanan

1373 Campus Delivery, Colorado State Univ., Ft. Collins, CO 80523-1373



Sid Suryanarayanan is an associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Colorado State University (CSU). He received the PhD in electrical engineering from Arizona State University in 2004 with a specialization in power systems engineering. He has co-authored over 100 publications in journals and conference proceedings and co-edited two books. He […]

Bret Windom

Powerhouse Office 250, 430 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524



After receiving his Ph.D. degree from the University of Florida in August 2009, Dr. Bret Windom was awarded a National Research Council postdoctoral fellowship to work at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Boulder, CO. At NIST, Dr. Windom carried out experiments to measure key physical properties of fuels as they relate […]

Azer Yalin

Powerhouse Office 215, 1374 Campus Delivery Fort Collins, CO 80523



Azer Yalin is a Professes in Mechanical Engineering conducting research on laser diagnostics applied to
plasma, combustion, and the environment.

Peter Young

Powerhouse Office 247, 430 North College Avenue Fort Collins, CO 80524



Peter Young is a Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering. His
research interests include mathematical system theory, controller
analysis/synthesis methodologies, and applications to microgrids
incorporating clean energy generation and distribution.

Daniel Zimmerle

1374 Campus Delivery Fort Collins, CO 80523


Daniel Zimmerle is a Senior Research Associate in the Energy Institute @ Colorado State. Zimmerle was a principal investigator on three major studies of methane emissions in the natural gas supply chain, and for METEC, the ARPA-E MONITOR test facility at CSU.